PAGE 7

Minutes of the meeting of Bangor City Council held in the Council Chamber and via Zoom video-conferencing on **27th June 2022** at 6.30 pm.

PRESENT: - His Worship the Mayor, Cllr. Gwynant Roberts, (Chair), the Deputy Mayor Councillor Elin Walker Jones, Cllr. Steve Bell, Cllr. Dylan Fernley, Cllr. Medwyn Hughes, Cllr. Huw Wyn Jones, Cllr. Jac Jones, Cllr. John Wynn Jones, Cllr. Chris Johnson, Cllr. Gareth Parry, Cllr. Meic Pattison, Cllr. Nigel Pickavance, Cllr John Wyn Williams.

Officers:- Martin Hanks (Acting Town Clerk), Gwynfor Owen (Translator), Sioned Jones (Minutes).

27/22 APOLOGIES

None

28/22 DECLARATION OF FINANCIAL INTEREST OR PERSONAL CONNECTION None.

29/22 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

None.

30/22 WELCOME

His Worship the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting. He apologised for the late start because of technical problems, due to the meeting being a hybrid one, with interpretation. It was hoped that this would be resolved by the next meeting.

31/22 PRESENTATIONS BY COUNCIL CO-OPTION CANDIDATES

The Town Clerk explained that originally, six individuals had agreed to be considered for cooption to the Council. However, one had withdrawn his interest and the remaining five had been invited to the meeting to give a short presentation. The five were:

Janet Abas (Zoom) Salamata Fadu Anna Haydn Eirian Roberts Peter Whitby, who could not be present because of Covid.

The four candidates present gave a brief presentation. All four said that it would be an honour to sit on Bangor City Council. They all had different interests they would wish to pursue in their Council work, e.g. young people, the High Street, the environment. A common theme running through their presentations was excitement that there was a sense of hope for a renewal in Bangor; all also said that they wished to "give something back" to the City.

The presentations were warmly received, and the Councillors said that they were very pleased to have such a diversity of candidates.

PAGE 8

IT WAS RESOLVED to co-opt all five as members of Bangor City Council, representing the following wards:

Janet Abas: Hendre Salamata Fadu: Hirael Anna Haydn: Marchog Eirian Roberts: Dewi Peter Whitby: Marchog

The co-opted Councillors all read the Declaration of Acceptance of Office in turn, and were then formally welcomed to the Council.

The meeting came to an end at 7.20 pm

ACTING TOWN CLERK – Martin Hanks – CLERC Y DREF DROS DRO